Daily Prompt: Deja Vu

Have you ever truly felt déjà vu, the sensation that you’ve already had the experience you’re currently having? 

How many times have I experienced déjà vu? – I have lost count. Like the countless times I would get to school and my Maths teacher would say: “Dunford, where is your homework?” Or any teacher, for that matter. Or the times when a girlfriend would say to me: “It’s not really working out between us, is it?”

As a young man in my early twenties I regularly worked on building sites as an electrician. I would spend all day listening to the radio; at home, at work, and travelling between home and work. It was during this time that I developed a curious talent that I have since lost. Not a talent that would stand up to the scientific rigors of producing repeated performances upon demand, but a talent that became so regular in it’s occurrence as to be more than simply a statistical anomaly.

Put simply, I developed an ability to ‘hear’ a song on the radio when it was switched off. I know it sounds far fetched, but it is true. I had no control over it, and it was notoriously fickle in it’s appearance, preferring to wait until I was alone to manifest itself, but occur it did, and with astonishing frequency. I would say that at its peak I was experiencing this phenomena two or three times a week. It would happen something like this:

I would be engaged in some activity, often driving or working, when I would suddenly ‘hear’ a song in my head. I would instinctively turn on the radio and the song was playing! I know you probably think that this was coincidence, but it wasn’t. The songs were not necessarily current songs receiving a lot of airplay, they could be very old – it made no difference. I would also say that I knew the song was on. I had an absolute certainty and I can honestly say that I have no recollection of ever believing a song was playing and finding myself wrong.

I suspect that this was no latent superpower, but some weird ability to pick up and unscramble radio waves, perhaps even brought about by spending so much time listening to the wireless. I would be very interested to know if anyone else has had this experience on a regular basis.

Sadly, sometime during my late twenties my ‘superpower’ disappeared and I became mortal once more. I am now reduced to the most unfortunate form of deja vu, or possibly groundhog day. Tonight, I watched my beloved England play a World Cup qualifier against a so called “footballing minnow”, and race into a lead that I somehow knew just wasn’t destined to last.  I beheld once more their slick passing in the first half deteriorate during the second half to the desperate depths of a Sunday league pub team, as they tried and failed to hang on to a one goal advantage.  Déjà vu indeed.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/03/26/daily-prompt-deja-vu/

3 comments

  1. Quite a superpower there James. Perhaps in reality you had a psychic link to the disk-jockey.
    I have heard of people saying they received radio signals via dental work… That would – by necessity – only refer to the AM broadcast band (as far as I am aware) Perhaps the human brain is innately equipped to rectify and sort out Frequency Modulated radio signals. Hmmm…
    Deja Vu is an eerie thing to be sure. A hard thing to figure out. I remember as a child, accompanying my parents on a house hunt (not that they were actually looking to move – just checking their options) when we came upon a house that I knew for all the World that I had visited in the past and indeed I knew what the inside looked like before ever seeing it on that day. I was assured that I had never even been to the town much less that house in my entire young life.
    I begged to differ but alas it was chalked-up to Deja Vu. Now every time I think of Deja Vu I remember that house.
    I am waiting for some freaked-out day that, by happenchance, I discover myself within those walls and put the eerie feelings regarding that house in their place.

    Like

    • Hello Masodo, what a terrific story you have there, and so poetically expressed. I thank you very much for visiting and most especially for sharing that with me. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

