Daily Prompt: No, Thanks

Is there a place in the world you never want to visit? Where, and why not?

There are undoubtedly a great number of places in the world where I would rather not set foot, many of which I do not yet know and only realise that I would rather not be there upon my arrival. That said, I have decided to list only one for a very particular reason; I detest being cold.

I am not talking about being a little bit chilly, or realising when venturing out on a Friday night without a coat that I in the words of my friends am ‘not as hard as you think you are’. I am talking about that kind of cold that leaves your body convulsing with bone juddering shivers and an uncontrollable rattle in the jaw.

For me this is the purest form of misery, and as such I nominate the Russian village of Oymyakon (or OhMyAkinBones) where the average daily temperature in January is a blood freezing minus 50 degrees Celcius. In fact the lowest recorded temperature there is -70 degrees C!

Not for me thank you!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/03/03/daily-prompt-no-thanks/

Top 10 Cidades mais frias do Mundo - Oymyakon
Top 10 Cidades mais frias do Mundo – Oymyakon (Photo credit: Blogpaedia)
9 comments

  1. Hah hah- nicely argued. Actually I think it’d be fascinating to visit there- but then I like snow, mountains, skiing and adventuring, so I’m a little more tolerant of cold climates (and have the gear that’d keep me alive down there) 🙂 I’ve been through a couple of Canadian winters and pretty much loved them. But your point is well taken!

    Like

  2. I hear you. 🙂

    Personally, I absolutely cannot stand the heat. Maybe it’s a Russian in me. I just find it much easier to warm up when cold then to cool down when hot. When one is cold – you can put on more clothing, start the fire, have a shot or two of vodka, or a cup of hot tea. You can exercise. Or you can take a hot bath. Heck, you can even combine them all.

    But when one is hot, there is only hope of the A/C. Your cloths are off. Cold water is not even always an option as pipes and water tanks heat up. Exercise won’t help. Neither will drinking. There’s nothing… The lack of options intimidates me. 🙂

    By the way, when talking about weather conditions, temperature isn’t the only important measure. Humidity plays an important role. -20 C with 5% humidity is nothing. You probably won’t even need a hat. However -5 C with 80% humidity will probably kill you. Similarly with heat. +40 C with 5% humidity is hot, but bearable. +40 C with 80% humidity is a death sentence.

    Like

    • Well, I can see the logic in what you are saying, and I think you do a pretty good job of arguing your point of view. But I think I have to stick with No Thanks for that one, although a few Vodkas would be most welcome. Dosvedanya Tovarisch!

      Like

  3. I had to chuckle reading your post. I am in the middle of a heat wave here in Melbourne with temperature hovering around 35c for the last couple of weeks and have been fantasising about a blizzard sweeping through. I think I might be with Leonid above on this one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

